X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • SiliGoose
    • Aug 2000

Wireless networking

I need to add a wireless "access point" to my home LAN. I don't want my 2 laptops to be tethered to my 2 desktops by any cables.

Can anyone suggest a brand or model? Reviews I've found on the net are spotty and I don't know enough about networking to buy the first thing I see.

BTW, my access point needs to work with both PC and Apple. I assume that's not an issue with Wi-fi (802.11b) however.

-Sili
    www.campmurphy.net
  • Bing Fung
    Ultra Senior Member
    • Aug 2000

Sili, Thanks to Trevor Schell, I now have a Linksys Wireless Access Point + Cable /DSL Router with 4 port switch :LOL: I just finished seting it up, but have not yet connected another PC via wireless. I set up Trevor's last night but did not get his laptop acessing via Wi-Fi. I't something that I'm just learning.

Trevor has the same router as does Kevin Patz, and so far it seems like a very good product. It has a web base setup screen which is very nice.

I'm assuming the 802.11b standard encompasses both apples and PC, though I'm not 100% sure of it.

Linksys BEFW11S4

Linksys WPC

Bing
    Bing

Comment

• SiliGoose
      • Aug 2000

I finally decided upon Linksys too. I already have a Dlink Router connected to the DSL modem so I just opted for the Linksys WAP11 WiFi Access Point. Got a Linksys PC card and an Apple Airbook card for the ibook too.

I'm sure I'll be posting set-up questions in a few days.

Thanks,

-Sili
      www.campmurphy.net

Comment

• Kevin P
        • Aug 2000

Trevor has the same router as does Kevin Patz, and so far it seems like a very good product. It has a web base setup screen which is very nice.
        Actually I have the WAP11 access point, not the router, since I have a Linux box performing router duties, and a 8-port hub already. A DIY network of sorts.

KJP

Official Computer Geek and Techno-Wiz Guru of HTGuide - Visit Tower of Power
        My HT Site

Comment

• Bing Fung