X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • taorama
    • Oct 2007

Remote Controllers for Game Consoles/HDPCs in Large HT

Hello all,

I'm new to the HTGuide forum, and hope this is the right place to post this! I have a question regarding game controllers in a large HT room. If the equipment rack is located in the back of the HT room, what's the best way to set up game consoles like PS2/3 and XBox? Will the wireless controllers work? What about games like DDRMax that use the the dance pads, or some of the driving games? Is it better to set up a couple of hard-wired game ports near the seating area?

Also, what about HDPC's? Most of the reviews I read for the wireless keyboards/mice say the ranges on those are pretty bad.

The HT in question is about 25' wide by approximately 40' deep, screen at the front and the equipment rack in the back.

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
    Andy
  • Chris D
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Dec 2000

Hey, Andy, you bring up a good issue that does come up for many people.

I personally haven't encountered many problems with remote devices. My previous theater, all equipment was in a side alcove about 8 feet away from the seats, and 12-15 feet away from the screen or front projector. I used a few remote devices, including PS3 bluetooth remotes, with few problems. In my new theater, though, I have an entirely separate equipment room that is separated from the theater by two sets of walls. It's about 30 feet from the equipment racks to the main seating, maybe 40 feet to the front screen, but 30 feet should be the max range needed. Coincidentally, the PS3 bluetooth controllers are stated to have a 30 foot max range, so we'll see how that turns out. (I'm still unpacking in my new house and haven't set everything up)