X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Bill A.
    • Jul 2004

Projector advice needed

Hi All,

I am just beginning to research home theater front projectors and am trying to get a feel for relevant points. I have seen only a handfull of projectors in operation first hand at local high-end audio-video stores, but none of the ones that seem to be more highly rated on some of the review sites (projector central, etc.). I have a relatively large (22'x35') over-the-garage bonus room that I'd like to install a projector in. The logistics are such that it would have to aim across the shorter dimension (18'-19' throw), and there is a LOT of ambient light. Most of what I have read suggests I should be looking for a fairly high light output projector for this reason, unless I can control ambient light better. I have been looking at the Sanyo PLV-70, and have read through the recent thread on this model. One of it's drawbacks is the lack of HDCP compliant DVI input. How important is HDCP compatibility going forward? Is component level input distinguishably different from DVI in most cases? Another high-output Sanyo model, the PLV-WF10 is HDCP compliant, but appears to be to big (and loud?) - is it a viable choice for home theater? I'd like to do things as right as posible for < $10K including screen if possible, as this will have to last several years (unless I get divorced). Are ther other models I should be looking at?

I'm hoping to cure a serious case of ignorance here, any info/suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
  • Burke Strickland
    • Sep 2001

Bill -

Welcome to the HT Guide Forums and thanks for posting your questions.