Disney's "Planes" - DANGER DANGER DANGER!!!

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Chris D
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Dec 2000

Disney's "Planes" - DANGER DANGER DANGER!!!

Rented this on Blu-Ray. Overall, a nice movie. Lots of little references and clues in there, such as scenery and objects shaped in the shapes of many classic airplanes, similar to little things done in "Cars". As a pilot, I appreciated this, and on that note appreciated the aeronautical information and historical aviation put into the movie. The movie wasn't really BAD in any way. But it was far from the (often) masterful story usually created by Pixar. The story was nice, but fairly formulaic and predictable. Sound quality was good. PQ was really nice.

But here's the thing, and why I find this movie SO dangerous: "Planes" is NOT a Pixar movie. "Planes" is billed as being "from the world of 'Cars'", obviously so you as a consumer draw a connection with Pixar movies and the quality of "Cars". There are some elements of "Planes" that is drawn from Pixar, such as visual styling and John Lassiter being one of the Executive Directors. But "Planes" is not Pixar. "Planes" is a DISNEY movie, spun off from Cars and Pixar. Since Disney bought out Pixar several years ago, Disney can do whatever they want with Pixar, their styling, their reputation, their movies, their characters, etc, etc.