X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • rumn8r@mac.com
    • Sep 2004

1068 volume changes by itself

I have a 1068 prepro that is several months old. It is a replacement for one that had a hum problem that I bought March 2004. I am very happy with it but have one problem: the volume adjusts automatically, apparently at random times. It usually happens only once or twice per evening and either increases to maximum volume or decreases to minimum volume. It usually happens after at least 30 minutes of powering on. My previous 1068 did it as well. I have my components in a closet and use a Home Theater Master MX-800 RF remote. It doesn't seem to be the remote because I just watched the volume decrease on the 1068 with no IR signal broadcast from the RF receiver / IR broadcaster base station. I have been monitoring this forum for several months but haven't seen anything about this. Has anyone heard of this happening?
  • Aussie Geoff
    Super Senior Member
    • Oct 2003

Rumn8r,

Very strange indeed. I don't recall any other postings on this. I'd say it was a faulty RSP-1068 except that you say your previous unit did this as well...

Are you sure there can't be anything wrong with the RF/IR repeater in your closet that is sending the signal? It seems much more likely that two identically faulty units...

Geoff

Comment

• Andrew Pratt
      Moderator Emeritus
      • Aug 2000

Agreed if it were just this one unit I'd say it could be an issue with the receiver but seeing as its occured on two the culprit is likely something else. Do you have a plasma TV? Are you using the IR extender plugged into the back of the Rotel? What else is on that IR system? Where are the IR receivers located...and does this occur during day or night (or both?)

Comment

• GosonFletchy
        • May 2004