X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Koninghein
    • Jun 2004

2nd Hand Rotel RA 970BX: hot or not?

Hi guys,

Looking for an upgrade in stereo for my Onkyo tx-sr500E A/V receiver, I came across an ad for the Rotel RA 970BX (seller is first owner) for about $ 140.

Though I am new to Rotel in general, I am also not familiar with the pitfalls I may encounter with a 8-10 year old integrated amplifier. I do realise that for stereo performance, I 'd win a great deal over the Onkyo, but will the "investement" (I am a broke student ) last some years from now?

So I am actually quitte curious as to what you experts have to say about such an offer, is it a bargain or not?
  • eelco74
    • Dec 2002

The 970 is a very fine sounding amp, that will sound better then any current midrange receiver, also your Onkyo.

I has been a test winner. I have got some english reviews of the 971 (updated 970) for you if you wish.

For 150$ you might be surprised how nice this amp sounds. Combine it with some fine speakers.
    Marantz AV8802, Marantz UD8002, Rotel RB-991 and RB985mkii, Rotel RD960
    Focal/Jmlab Electra 1028S, Electra CC, Electra SW1000S, Cobalt 705
    Pioneer KRL-37V, Epson EH-TW8100, Kinkping CES-180 77"inch

Comment

• Koninghein
      • Jun 2004

Well, that is an encouraging reply. Fine speakers you say, I got to admit I own a pair of Magnat Vector 55's, not quitte in that league... :roll:

Will I notice an improvement in sound quality AND quantity (gotta play LOUD once in a while ) with these speakers and a Harman Kardon DVD5 dvd player as the source? I noticed the Onkyo is sounding a little constrained and harsh when pushed relatively loud, but should I rather stay with the Onkyo considering the speakers and input source as the restraining factors?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts I hope to hear about the 'age factor' for such an amp.