X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • spiffnme
    • Apr 2003

985 vs 1075 and 991 vs 1080 AMPS

Given the option of purchasing a Rotel RB 985 MKII (5x110) and a Rotel 991 (2x200) used for $1100

OR

The RB 1075 (120 x5) and the RB 1080 (200x2) at closer to $1600 (still used)

Which should I do? What are the major differences between the older and newer models? Is it really worth $500+/- for the newer models?

Please tell me quick, I've got some pieces available to me now!

www.funnyfarmcomics.net
    All Daredevil, All the Time!
  • fyonn
    • Nov 2002

hiya,

this is also a question I'd like the answer to, I've just bought a second hand rb991 (for £300) and the only real difference I've been able to find out about between it and the 1080 is a 12v trigger (which would be nice I admit) and a silver faceplate (again... however I'm perfectly happy with the 991 at the mo, although it's only been in my system for a few days.

I have no experience of the 1080 as such, but there certainly seems to be nothing wrong with the 991, if I were you I'd probably go for the older stuff unless you want 12v triggers.

dave

Comment

• spiffnme
      • Apr 2003

Anybody else have any info on this? I've found three 200x2 amps from Rotel. What are the major differences between the 990, 991, and 1080?

Is there any real reason I should pay hundreds of dollars more for the 1080 over the 9-series? (other than the cool look of the silver and black face)

Thanks!

www.funnyfarmcomics.net

Comment

• JohnSC
        • Jun 2002

I was faced with a similar choice to you. I chose the 991 over the 1080 because I found they were the same except for the 12V trigger. I saved A$900. I also have the 1075 and am very happy with both of them. I overcame the 12V trigger problem by building my own for the 991. They don't sell them pre-built in Australia but I know they are sold in the US. It cost me A$80 which is a whole lot better than paying A$900 more for the 1080!

John

Comment

• fyonn