X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Madd
    • Jan 2003

1066 questions & thoughts

Well, I am new to Rotel and new to this forum. This looks like the forum to get some knowledge for Rotel gear. My questions are is that I got this unit 1066 with the 1075 on Dec 22 for my Xmas present to myself. Holding down the mute button= V2.2.2 02/09/05. Well, this unit does not decode Dolby Digital EX, I have to go in the setup screen and manually do this. Now I see on Rotels web site there is a software upgrade for this to automatically decode encoded EX disc that was available in April. So my question is why did my dealer not do this upgrade for me before I took the unit home so I have the newest version of the software? I cannot believe this unit does not decode digital EX from the factory but it does decode DTS EX.???They want me to spend $30 for a cable and spend my time to do what should have been done at the factory or at least my dealers place. Had to vent here :twisted: Well, here are my thoughts to this Bass Mangement thing: I think that you should be able to set up each DSP,DPLII Mode and PCM Mode 2CH, 3CH, 5CH, 7CH, that would memorize it so you do not have to go in and change this stuff oncreen each time you want to listen to a different Mode, Digital,DTS, and Stereo modes. You should be able to set it and forget it! It should be memorized. Is that a really hard thing to be put in a processor like this.

Never argue with a fool,one may not know the difference!
  • WallaceBW
    • Jan 2003

You should be glad you can even do firmware upgrades yourself...

most resellers will not proform the upgrades automaticaly... you most likely got the latest stable version from the time it was shipped.

You should see:

for procedures for making the upgrade cable.... you can build your own for under 10 bucks easily...

The upgrade procedure is available here: