X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • PSUfan
    • May 2004

Rotel 1068 & phono preamp recommendation

Recently acquired a near mint yamaha yp-d6 turntable. I'm new to vinyl and would like any recommendations on a good entry level phono preamp. It has a stanton epoch ii cartridge on it which I believe is mm but just to be safe I was thinking I should buy a preamp with mm & mc capabilities. Thanks in advance for any assistance. I have our old Christmas records that I'd like to play and the Bruce Springsteen box set on vinyl. Who knows where it will go from there...
  • jam200
    • Jan 2009

Visit http://www.esotericsound.com/elect.htm#d_Phono. Esoteric makes a great little phone preamp for around $100. They are located in Wheaton, IL. Regards.

Comment

• eelco74
      • Dec 2002

I am not sure if it is available in the US, but Pro-ject has some fine Phono products in their line.

The entry level Phonobox-II will probably do fine: http://www.project-audio.com/main.ph...=boxes&lang=en

The is also an USB version and a better ES and Tube version.

I own the original phonobox, but after an upgrade to the Ortofone Salsa MC, I might go for the Tubebox II.
      Marantz AV8802, Marantz UD8002, Rotel RB-991 and RB985mkii, Rotel RD960
      Focal/Jmlab Electra 1028S, Electra CC, Electra SW1000S, Cobalt 705
      Pioneer KRL-37V, Epson EH-TW8100, Kinkping CES-180 77"inch

Comment

• chanlon
        • Sep 2003

The Cambridge Audio 640P Phono Pre-amp sounds exceptional for the price:

Comment

• wkhanna
          Grumpy Old Super Moderator Emeritus
          • Jan 2006

Agreed.
          The CA and Project units are good values for entry-level pre's.
          _

Bill

Practicing Curmudgeon & Audio Snob
          ....just an "ON" switch, Please!

FinleyAudio

Comment

• Alaric
            Ultra Senior Member
            • Jan 2006