X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • MikeHe
    • Dec 2008

Problems with amperage and Rotel 1095

I have just had the opportunity to join the elite rotel club. I have purchased a Rotel 1095. It is to be used to drive 2 ML Vantage, a Matrix 805 as center channel, and 2 B&W matrix 804 as surrounds. I use an ONKYO 705 as a preamp. The receiver also has a velodyne subwoofer attached. A panamax 5300 is used to filter the current. A Panasonic HD DVD is also attached via HDMI, as well as a Directv DVR, and a Samsung ln52a860. When I drive the front 3 speakers, everthing is fine. When I try to drive all 5 speakers, the panamax shows a spike to over 15 amps, voltage drops to less than 115 volts and then the circuit breaker on the panamax kicks in. High quality speaker wire is used. (Audioquest x2 for the surrounds, plus center channel, the ML vantage are attached via rockefeller speaker cables. being a newbie I wanted to request some assistance from the experts in this forum as to why the amperage spikes so high, when all five channels are driven, and what can be done to alleviate this. All insight is greatly appreciated. Thanks!
  • Legairre
    • Jan 2002

It sounds like you have a 15 amp circuit. A 15 amp circuit can only carry a total of 1440 watts,which is 80% of the 1800 watts in a 15 amp circuit. The RMB-1095 consumes 1200 watts and the Onkyo 705 consumes about 700 watts. Thats 1900 watts not counting anything else you have on this circuit. Of course you will rarely hit 1900, but you could easily be exceeding the 1440 max wattage(80% rule) of a 15 amp circuit.

It sounds like you need to have a 20 amp circuit installed to run the 1095 and 705 and your other gear all on the same circuit. A 20 amp circuit gives 1920 watts(80% rule) vs.the 1440 watts of the 15 amp circuit. You'll still trip the panamax breaker though because it sounds like it has a 15 amp breaker.