RCD-1072, Bel Canto Dac2 or Cambridge Audio?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • nikos
    • Dec 2005

RCD-1072, Bel Canto Dac2 or Cambridge Audio?

I currently only have the oppo 971 player and my 1057 Dacs...

Would i be better off investing in a DAC instead of trying to get a 1072 in my system?

Does anyone have experience with the way the 1072 compares to the 640 and 740 players from cambridge audio?

for 750 or so i could be in DAC2 territory....

I have no experience what so ever with dedicated DAC...

(I also through my home network feed music to the 1057 through my xbox running media center... could that also benefit from the DAC2,even though I'd have to manually unplug/plug the optical cable?)

Thanks,
    Nikos
    Classe SSP-800, Classe CA-5200, B&W 803D, B&W HTM2D, JL Audio Fathom f113 Subwoofer, Rotel RMB-1077(for sale), Oppo DV-983H, Panasonic PT-AE900U Xbox360, Sony PS3, Samsung 8000 Series 55" LCD, Klipsch promedia 5.1 ultra for PC
  • bigburner
    Super Senior Member
    • May 2005

Hi Nikos,

I obtained an external DAC to improve the sound quality of my Oppo 971 when playing music DVDs. However I now use my Oppo for listening to CDs too, instead of my Rotel RCD-855. The RCD-855 still sounds good but the Oppo + DAC sounds better.

I predict that the trend over the next few years will be further improvements in picture quality. The Oppo is a great example this trend. I might therefore upgrade my Oppo long before I feel inclined to upgrade my external DAC.

Another thing to consider about an external DAC is its ability to handle multiple inputs. A good example is using the external DAC in conjunction with a PC or laptop. Benchmark have recognised this and have provided a USB input on the latest version of their DAC1 device.

Nigel.

Comment

• PewterTA
      • Nov 2004