X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • PJL-Canada
    • Jul 2006

Rotel system purchase opinion...

Hi all, I'm a Rotel Newb here...

I am contemplating replacing my Marantz SR7000 Receiver (6.5 yrs old) with a Rotel RSP-1068 Processor, RMB-1075 5 ch amp , and RB-1070 2 ch amp for front L and R.
    The set up will be located in an avg size basement room (900 sq ft) powering Newform Research R630 spkrs for front L and R mains, Newform Research R58-center, Boston CR-65 Surr, and Energy Reference - rears.

Do these Rotel models seem matched to the task?

How much different and presumably better will this sound from the Marantz receiver?

Should I wait till new product replaces these Rotel models or should I get these current ones at a 20 % discount?

Would appreciate your thoughts...
  • CombatWombat
    • Jul 2006

I was looking at almost the same set up last year sometime, Then choose to wait and save to get the 1098 and a heap of stereo amps

Not that there is anything wrong with the setup you have picked I thought about It sounded awsome when I listend to it I just craved a bit more Im a sucker for that. So I would say yes good pick (IMO)

BTW make sure you set aside a bit of tokens for Interconnect cabels between you amps and Pre/Pro and also from your source (DVD,CD ect) other wise you will not get the most out of it as a matter of fact it might sound worse dont have to spend a heaps jusyt dont connect with $2 connectors

Talk to LEX from CAT cabels he might have a soloution that might suite you

Good luck and welcome

Comment

• soundhound
      • Mar 2004

The only thing I would do differently (and did) is replace the 1070 with the 1080 for the front mains. Very nice gear and have kept many people happy for some time. Would assume you could get a pretty good price break if you buy all at once.
      Good luck and post your outcome.

Comment

• rickyo
        • Jul 2006