X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • newtorotel
    • Feb 2006

Help comparing Rotel vs. All others

Hello, I am new to rotel and am just about to purchase a pre/apm with an amplifier. I just bought the B&W 804s for fronts and the HTM3S center and the DS7 surrounds. I have looked into Arcam avp700/ p1000 amp. I have looked into NAD. I have looked into a B&K 507. I have looked into a McIntosh MHT200. Now I am looking into a rotel rmb1068 paired with a 1095amp. Can anybody please give me help as to how rotel matches up against all the others. I am leaning towards the rotel for price/performance. Thanks all for all your help ;x(
    Last edited by newtorotel; 22 February 2006, 01:13 Wednesday.
  • ProStereo
    • Nov 2004

Rotel will do you very well and get you where you want.

Comment

• miner
      • Mar 2005

You will need at least 200w/ch to really make those 804s sing. I have 130w/ch (RB-1070) and am looking to upgrade my amp.

Comment

• htsteve
        Super Senior Member
        • Sep 2004

1080 and 1075

newtorotel,

I have 804's, HTM1 and 705 (surround). I have a 1080 and 1095 as well as a 1068 pre. The 1080 is on the 804's. Very nice combination. The 1080 is superior to the two 'main' channels of the 1095. Better bass performance, more datailed and deeper soundstage. The 1095 powers my center, rears and a second zone. The overall performance is excellent. I auditioned others before purchasing the Rotel. The only one on your list I auditioned was the B&K. I've always been pleased by the price/performance of Rotel products.

For the price of a 1095, you could get a 1080 and a 1075. If you want to jump up in price a little, you could get the 1077, 7 channel digital amp from Rotel (there are other threads on the 1077 in this forum ). Hope this helps.

Comment

• jorgjean
          • Nov 2005

Originally posted by newtorotel