X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Nolan B
    Super Senior Member
    • Sep 2005

Classe CA 2100 w/ RSX 1067

I am considering upgrading my 2 channel stereo listening and was wondering if I could somehow connect a classe ca 2100 to my rsx 1067 for 2 channel only and will still want to use my 1067 for 5.1.

if i did this would the classe always power the to front mains even durring 5.1 listening? would that be bad?

Would it be easy to navigate with a remote to do this? This has to be wife proof for me to do it.
  • grit
    • Jan 2005

I'm not an expert (and don't know anything about the 1067, I have the 1068), but even if the 1067 has a zone 2 function, I think you MUST be using separate speakers. So, if you have 7 speakers total (5.1 for HT and 2 extra for music), you MAY be able to do it.

Your next option is to run the front 2 speakers off the Classe (an excellent amp btw) and your center and surrounds off the Rotel, but I think yer gonna cry a little bit when you watch a movie due to the mismatching. If you can possibly do it, I'd get a Classe 3100 (do that make that?) and run the front 3 off the Classe, and the rears off the 1067.

Look through the 1067 manual and see if there's pre-outs for the channels.

Comment

• Nolan B
      Super Senior Member
      • Sep 2005

so if I plug the preouts from the rsx 1067 to the Classe then the classe wll be used for what ever signal gets sent to the mains be it from 5.1, or 2 channel? I can then have my rotel control the centre and the surrounds? will that sound strange when watching movies?

Comment

• Kevin D
        Ultra Senior Member
        • Oct 2002

You are mostly going to hear the difference on front pans, the fronts will sound different then the center. If Classe has a 3 channel amp I would look at that.

Of course with the 12v triggers, you *COULD* get a 12v controlled amp switcher and only have the Classe on (and 1067 fronts off) when on the CD input...

Kevin D.

Comment

• grit
          • Jan 2005