X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Rags
    • Aug 2003

Rotel 1095 humming

Hi everyone - Im new to Rotel - I just picked up a RMB1095 yesterday. Sounds wonderful running off the processor in my Yamaha DSPA2 (temporarily).

However I can hear a slight humming sound when the amp is switched on - intitally I though it might be the fan in the amp but then I recalled that it does not have a fan. The humming was particularily audible late last night when everything else was pretty quiet. So far the ony connections I have made are the Yamaha's preouts to the amp, the amp to the speakers and an optical input into the yamaha from a dvd player. The Rotel is not faulty as I have heard this very amp in another setup with no audible hum

I know this thing is a beast and draws a lot of current but is this normal ? I am running 4 ohm speakers.

Any advice / help would be appreciated. Maybe im just being picky....

Thanks
    Rags
  • Andrew Pratt
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2000

Rags you've very likely got a grounding problem somewhere in your system that the amp is picking up. The most common culprit is the coax cable feed from the cable or satellite dish not bing properly grounded. As a test unplug all coax cables from your VCR's, TIVO's and satellite receivers etc and see if the humming goes away. If it does you'll need a grounding block installed on these coax cables which you can find at most radio shacks for a couple of dollars. Keep us posted and we'll get you sorted out.

Comment

• Rags
      • Aug 2003

Andrew - my satellite, VCR etc although on the same rack have not been connected up to the amp/processor (yet). Why would this still cause a problem ?

Thanks
      Rags

Comment

• greggz
        • Jun 2002

Rags, please clarify, is the humming coming from the speakers or is it actually eminating out of the amp itself?

Gregg
        Gregg

Our Home Theater

Comment

• Rags
          • Aug 2003