X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • roundmound
    • Sep 2004

Assistance with bright system

This is a great forum. I have posted only a few times but visit frequently for "education" since I am new to world of high fidelity.

Now to my questions.

I have owned the 1068, 1095 and 1060 Rotels along with B&W 705s since September of 2004. The speakers are spaced a good distance from the walls and are elevated at ear level in a room with hardwood floors. However, the harmonics sound thin and bright to me with no depth (not bass) and this may be due to my sensitivity to the higher octaves or the floors. Of the following choices, which would options would best resolve my problems?

Upgraded connectors (A call to Lex is planned in the near future)

Upgraded B&W speakers (703, 805S or 804S, which pushes the budget) or is the forward treble a quality of B&Ws?

Sell 705s and buy speakers from another manufacturer with warmer qualities

Replacing a possibly defective Rotel unit (Should Rotels be this bright?)

I know these would all provide improvements to my system, but I am curious where the experts would begin.

Thank you for any comments or suggestions.
  • sugarmedia
    • Feb 2005

I auditioned the 703's and the 804's yesterday and definitley noticed the 703's as sounding bright. When I switched over to the 804's it wasn't there.

I also had the Rep switch amps from Rotel to Classe and everything was very, very good.
    Last edited by sugarmedia; 09 February 2005, 15:17 Wednesday. Reason: .

Comment

• Jason R
      • Jul 2004

Have recently upgraded to 804's from 704's and i must admit that in my opinion the 700 series is exceptionally bright and i personally did not enjoy that and no amount of positioning etc got them to sound just right. 804's same place same system, so smooth and airy,exactly what i wanted. Even the HTM 7 is to much for me nd i have advertised so that i can get an htm1.