X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Woo Wooooo
    • May 2004

Which DVD Player to get??? HELLLP!

I am interested in 3 DVD players and I hope some of you own either one of these players RDV-1060, RDV-1050 or the Denon 2910. This is not a Denon vs Rotel war I just want my $$$ to go to the best possible unit. I know the Denon will play SACD and the rotel will not. I just want some pro and cons with these units. What do you have? What do you recomend, like dislike about the units. If you have an opinion please help me chose the best unit out there. I also know the Rotel units are a couple of years old and the denon is new. right now my 57" sony does not have DVI or the new HDMI connectors so I would not be able to utilize them right away and I do not think i will be buying a new TV in the next year or so.

Thanks for any advice..... :T

J
    Last edited by Woo Wooooo; 03 February 2005, 00:17 Thursday. Reason: left a word out
  • nash
    • Mar 2004

I have no experience with the Rotel players, but I think my 2910 is great. I have a DLP tv, so the upscaling DVI/HDMI ports are the main selling point for me. I do not use it for audio, so I can't comment on that part of the player. The picture is the best I've seen (definitely nicer than the HD931 I had previously).

Comment

• tonych31
      • Sep 2004

I got the denon 2200 coupled with Sony Wega 36" widescreen.
      It is a fantastic dvd player with excellent picture quality. The HT and SACD sound is also excellent. Although it skips if reading dvd-r. I dont like the normal CD sound though. It just doesn't have that quality. I think for dvd player, it boils down to Denon and Toshiba. Then followed by Pioneer and Sony. I previously have the Toshiba and Pioneer. I used the Pioneer for my backup DVD-R.

Comment

• Dmantis
        Moderator Emeritus
        • Jun 2004

Go with the Denon. It's a fantastic player ad has SACD. Rotel only supports DVD audio for some reason or another.

Dan

Comment

• shadow