• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • michael123
    • Apr 2009

Front full range speakers for A21

Hello

I am a newbie here

I have 3 Halo amplifiers where A21 is going for the front speakers.
    Recently I decided to upgrade them, which are at the moment B&W 604

The budget is quite decent - 10-15K$

I do not want/neither I can switch to JC-1 (do I need to?), I have no physical space to accommodate them. Anyway, maybe in the future

The goal is to have an excellent speakers for stereo music reproduction, I listen mostly to blues/country music/jazz/vocals

I have few candidates on my list:
    - B&W 802D
    - Verity Audio Leonore
    - Sonus Faber Elipsa
    - Martin Logan Summit X
    - Thiel CS3.7
    - KEF Reference 205/2 or 207/2

I would like to know what you people are using with your Halos..

thanks
    Michael
  • Vince Helm
    • Mar 2006

Originally posted by michael123
    Hello

I am a newbie here

I have 3 Halo amplifiers where A21 is going for the front speakers.
    Recently I decided to upgrade them, which are at the moment B&W 604

The goal is to have an excellent speakers for stereo music reproduction, I listen mostly to blues/country music/jazz/vocals

I have few candidates on my list:
    - B&W 802D
    - Verity Audio Leonore
    - Sonus Faber Elipsa
    - Martin Logan Summit X
    - Thiel CS3.7
    - KEF Reference 205/2 or 207/2
    HI Michael,

What source are you using? What preamp? What cables? I like the Thiel CS3.7 but your answer to the above questions will make all the difference to that speaker.

Vince

Comment

• michael123
      • Apr 2009

I have SlimDevices Transporter fed directly to A21 via balanced inputs.

I have also Audiolab 8000AP surround processor, but I use it now basically for TV/HDTV, movies (DVD, HTPC) and games (PS3)

As for Thiel, I was told that these require quite strong amplification and A21 will not be sufficient.. Are you sure about this match?

Comment

• Vince Helm
        • Mar 2006

Originally posted by michael123