X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • rrrcpa
    • Sep 2004

Upgrade old system?

I am a newbie. I currently have the following: B&W604 front, 601 FE, DS-6, CCM-6 (center, I think), Velodyne 1012X sub, Yamaha 2092 (non-DTS) all 1998 purchases (used less than 1 year). I am finishing a basement and would be asking please for suggestions on my current system being outdated (1998) versus upgrading to new speakers (I love the B&W's) around $4,000-$6,000 range. I am adding a DLP2+ front projector and screen, and need a new receiver (another forum I assume). I see that B&W has come out with Series 2 and 3 of the speakers I have and don't know the sound difference. Are the 700 Series a huge increase over my current speaker setup. I was also going to add 2 additional rears (601 S3 maybe?).

Thank you.

Rocco
  • Aussie Geoff
    Super Senior Member
    • Oct 2003

Rocco,

Are the 700 Series a huge increase over my current speaker setup.
    Yes....

Clearer and more tranparent - much closer in sound to the 800 series... For stereo you will really notice the difference...

Geoff

Comment

• sikoniko
      Super Senior Member
      • Aug 2003

does the $4-6k include projector, screen and receiver or is it for speakers only?

If it is everything, than from the research I have done, you would be best off putting $2k into a decent projector, I have heard a screen can be had (home made) for around 150$, and then consider between a rotel 1056 or maybe a b&k pre/pro and get your 601's for rears if you think you need them. For the 6k, you could go 1068 and a 1075, that way you could move into seperates. Any excess money would go toward cabling.

I know that doesnt really upgrade your speakers, but it will provide you with a good backbone for your system, and you can upgrade your speakers later if you still feel you need to. Once you get a solid receiver, it will bring new life to your speakers.

However, if it is just for speakers, that is a different story.