X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • TimbaLand
    • Aug 2013

PV1 vs PV1D

PV1 is 500w vs 400w PV1D. PV1D has room eq and other new technologies. Which one is better?
  • TimbaLand
    • Aug 2013

Someone must have done experience with the 2. Say something

Comment

• Briz vegas
      Super Senior Member
      • Mar 2005

Only heard the pV1. It's different in other areas isn't it.

The PV1 is great to hold, it's like a big bowling ball. Very tactile.
      Mac 8gb SSD Audirvana ->Weiss INT202 firewire interface ->Naim DAC & XPS2 DR->Conrad Johnson CT5 & LP70S-> Vivid B1s. Nordost Valhalla cables & resonance management. (Still waiting for Paul Hynes PS:M)
      Siamese :evil: :twisted:

Comment

• windshear
        • Dec 2004

I have no experience with either. However I have the DB1 and I would say the room compensation is worth it on the PV1D. The lower power rating is irrelevant as the 100w difference wont make a meaningful or noticable difference. Also the room compensation will reduce the boom across the measured range( ie room modes), reducing the need to amplify what you don't need.

Comment

• Briz vegas
          Super Senior Member
          • Mar 2005

Originally posted by windshear
          I have no experience with either. However I have the DB1 and I would say the room compensation is worth it on the PV1D. The lower power rating is irrelevant as the 100w difference wont make a meaningful or noticable difference. Also the room compensation will reduce the boom across the measured range( ie room modes), reducing the need to amplify what you don't need.
          No boom. Super clear and clean in my room, and this was before my bass traps. I don't think I actually heard the sub but it rattled the cupboards up the hall. Freaky.
          Mac 8gb SSD Audirvana ->Weiss INT202 firewire interface ->Naim DAC & XPS2 DR->Conrad Johnson CT5 & LP70S-> Vivid B1s. Nordost Valhalla cables & resonance management. (Still waiting for Paul Hynes PS:M)