X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • mazewing
    • Nov 2008

denon avr-2808 for 683's

Greetings, just registered so...

I'm pretty new in the whole "high-end" audio world and since a few weeks i'm listening to different speakers and looking for some nice set-ups. I plan on going for a 5.1 system. Now my question is:

Will the denon avr-2808 be enought to power:
    - 2x B&W 683
    - 2x B&W 685 (rear)
    - 1x HTM61
    - 1x ASW610
    Without the use of an amp for the 683's. My budget is already doubled compared to what i originally wanted to spend. And i simply don't have the money to spend €2000 on a receiver/amp

Thanks in advance
  • newguy987
    • Nov 2008

Welcome to the club, I too am brand new to this. Good choice with the speakers. I have the same ones and love them. They sound very very good, compared to the crap I had before. Do you already have the Denon? What is your budget? I'd look at something different if you could. I owned a Denon and was quite disappointed with it. It lacked the power I was looking for, too many bells and whistles vs sound quality. As far as power, it's rating is 110wpc but I don't think that's all channels driven simultaneously. Can you bi amp with it(channels 6 and 7)? if you can it might be ok. But like I said there are better ones out there......Imo.

Comment

• mazewing
      • Nov 2008

thanks for the reply.

My budget will be around €3500-4000

The setup i had first in mind was:
      4x B&W 685
      1x HTM62
      1x ASW610 (or ASW608)
      Onkyo SR-705 or perhaps the SR-606

But if i want to go with the 683 speakers, i would need a far better amp then the onkyo 705 or 606. I've read a bit and it seems the Denon 3808 would be a perfect choice, but that's a bit pricey for me. So i looked up the 2808 and it's missing some features, but for the most part it's a cheaper 3808. I can get the Denon 2808 for around €750

So that would be a total of:
      €1400 for the 683's
      €600 for the 685's
      €600 for the HTM62