What gives the most "bang for the buck"?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • sparky0173
    • Sep 2008

What gives the most "bang for the buck"?

First off, let me declare that I'm a complete NOOB when it comes to high end sound equipment. I was hoping to get some sound advice from the more seasoned veterans on the best upgrade path.

I've been listening to 2 channel music from my B&W DM601 S3's powered by my humble Denon AVR-1802 and sourced from a Toshiba SD-6200 DVD player for some time. Now that I have just a bit more disposable income, I'm interested in hearing music closer to its intended sound. I know that any equipment upgrade would likely produce better music, but for $1000, where should my money be spent? Would higher quality speakers make more of difference than higher quality electronics? The way I see it, I could replace my speakers and use the same receiver or keep the speakers and invest in new a new amp or CD player or even a combination of the two.

I don't like upgrading for the sake of having the newest system around. What I ultimately want is tangible quality at a reasonable value. To that end, I don't mind used equipment as long as it was well taken care of. What are your thoughts? Any feedback would be GREATLY appreciated! :lol:
  • Briz vegas
    Super Senior Member
    • Mar 2005

At your level and with your $1000 budget I think you have an interesting challenge. You only want to change 1 component but it has the potential to reveal any weaknesses in the rest of the system. Receivers are trying to be everything to everyone, as are DVD players, and you know what that means - compromise.