• Show
Clear All
  • thundercat
    • Apr 2008

Your thoughts on 683 and HK3485

hello everybody total noob here, looking at getting this setup

683's rated 25W-200W 8 Ohms

Harman Kardon 3485 120 Watts per Channel 8 Ohms

this should be alright for a stereo receiver? primary concern music not too interested in HT
  • f77
    • Jan 2008

Hello, i think you need better amplification to justify the investment in the 683s. Buy something used at 40-50% of new price, preferrably something in the arcam, rotel, primare, thule, musical fidelity league. I have a thule setup and it completely destroys the competition connected to my b&w cm4:s. If those aren't available where you live, I'd look into musical fidelity. If you stay in the HK segment, have a store connect a powerful amp to the 683:s so that you're at least making an informed choice, knowing what you're getting and what you're not getting.

Comment

• thundercat
      • Apr 2008

thanks for your help, now by better amplification do you mean the same amount of wattage but from a rotel or arcam or just more watts per channel?

like a RB-1080 200 watts per channel around 1000$

RB-1070 130 watts per channel around 700$

and that would be just for the amp I'd still need a tuner and cd player, which would cost me more than the speakers 1800$(Canadian)

I'd rather stick to buying a single stereo receiver maybe RX 1050, 100Watts per channel... lol man I'm confused, I guess i rather have better speakers and spend around 500$ on the receiver...

My reasoning for looking at the HK3485 is that it has some serious bang for the buck, Plus my dad has the B&W 602 S3( I've listened to them extensively)
      with a HK receiver and it's a great match.

Tomorrow I'm going to the local shop(the only one that carries B&W) to listen to the 863's and to see what kind of setup they have...I'll report back

Once again thanks for your time.

Comment

• f77
        • Jan 2008