X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Shadow Lord
    • Aug 2007

Want to buy new speakers: Thinking B&W 700s

O.k. been looking for speakers for a while. I was very interested in getting a set of Sony X-series but that has proven next to impossible. So I am now looking at the B&W 700 series which the x-series seemed to be based on. I listened to these with my Wife and she even likes them. I am thinking the following setup:

Fronts: 703 x 2
    Surrounds: 705 x 4
    Sub: ASW750

I have been doing some reading and people seem very disappointed w/ the HTM7 as a center.

I was thinking about upgrading to a HT3S instead. Would this be a good match? If not what do people recommend instead?

Also would people recommend the DS7 over the 705 for the surrounds?

Any help/info is appreciated. The setup will be used 80-90% for HT and the rest of the time for listening to music. TIA!

p.s. I am open to other brands and recs as well as I am just beginning my search!
  • Briz vegas
    Super Senior Member
    • Mar 2005

You can go for a better speaker or a not quite as good speaker depending on your budget and your listening preferences. On paper both would be better than a HTM7 for 703.

I have never read an explanation from B&W re why there is no FST center for the 700 series so it remains a topic of conversation.

I have HTM7 with 804s which is an even worse match but I'm spending my cash on 2 channel. Its ok in a "ho hum" kind of way but I miss the virtually seemless 705 HTM7 match across the front.

Try the 68# (with FST midrange driver) & HTM3 then report back your findings to share with all :B
    Mac 8gb SSD Audirvana ->Weiss INT202 firewire interface ->Naim DAC & XPS2 DR->Conrad Johnson CT5 & LP70S-> Vivid B1s. Nordost Valhalla cables & resonance management. (Still waiting for Paul Hynes PS:M)
    Siamese :evil: :twisted:

Comment

• Shadow Lord
      • Aug 2007

Originally posted by Briz vegas