X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Chicagohonda
    • Jan 2007

Advice needed on setting speaker crossover freqs

Hello -

I am a newbie to the audiophile and wonder if someone could field a couple of questions...

1. Where should set the cross-over frequencies for my front speakers (B&W DM603 S3) and subwoofer (ASW600)? Also, for the subwoofer, there is a setting on both the receiver and the speaker itself - should I set both the same?

2. Does anyone have input if upgrading my rear speakers to matching DM601S3 or DM602S3's once I am in a place that allows for more room?

3. Would I see noticed improvment in bass (mainly for movies) in upgrading to a more powerful Subwoofer - say an ASW675?

My current setup (at least until I get the upgrade bug) --
    Rotel RSX-1057 Receiver (Drives, center channel, rear, and outside speakers)
    Rotel RB-1070 Amplifier (Drives front speakers)
    Rotel RDV-1060 DVD/CD Player
    Front Speakers - B&W DM603 S3
    Center Channel - LCR 600
    Rear Speakers - B&W M1 Mini Theatre
    Subwoofer - B&W AS2 (Told that is is similar to ASW600)

Thanks in advance!
    Ryan
  • Isaac
    • Jan 2006

1.For movie oriented system I always set the all speakers to the small setting and crossover settings to 80hz. For the subwoofer, if available on the speaker itself, set it to bypass. If NO bypass switch on the subwoofer, turn crossover on the actual subwoofer all the way up so it is getting all the sound from the receiver.

2. Try to match the Crossover point of the front speakers if you can.

3. The lower the frequency responce (specs) the better for hometheater. If the room is big more power helps.
    Last edited by Isaac; 07 February 2008, 05:32 Thursday.

Comment

• misterdoggy
      Super Senior Member
      • May 2005

80hz is whats recommended for HT.

Get a dpl meter and verify all your speakers are putting out 75dp from your listening position running a test signal.