X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • fauzigarib
    • Aug 2006

Uh oh! Bose & Wilkins?

Hey all,

Interesting thread going on at the AVS forums... Most about McIntosh, but there are a few mentions about B&W and how the diamond tweeter is completely a marketing gimmick to reel in the rich!

The last post:
    In my first job as a thin-film engineer I grew CVD diamond films for a living and although they have great tribological, mechanical, electrical and thermal properties, I am not convinced they are any good for tweeters. From a mechanical stiffness standpoint they are harder than anything else on this planet (aluminum, titanium etc) so if anything they will be more 'analytical' sounding. From a strenght-to-weight ratio point they are the best and hence would have the most extended response (>40KHz). But given the fact that most humans can't hear beyond 15-18KHz, its pointless to have a response that goes anything beyond that. So, IMHO, the 'diamond tweeter' is just a marketing shaft given to the unscrupulous consumer with big bucks.

The link:

Check it out... see what you think.

Fauzi
  • Andrew M Ward
    • Apr 2005

Originally posted by fauzigarib
    Hey all,

Interesting thread going on at the AVS forums... Most about McIntosh, but there are a few mentions about B&W and how the diamond tweeter is completely a marketing gimmick to reel in the rich!

The last post: