X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Angioguy
    • Nov 2005

Subwoofer to complete B&W HT system?

Does anybody have experience with the Velodyne DD-10 versus the SPL 1200 ii subwoofers?

The subwoofer I'm looking for will be completing a 5.1 system consisting of a pair of B&W DM-330 (rears), B&W HTM4S (center) and B&W 803S (mains). The center and rear channels are driven by an Arcam AVR-300 receiver, and the 803's are driven by a McIntosh MC-402 power amp bridged to the AVR-300. My setup is roughly 60:40, HTure audio, and where audio goes, I listen to a broad range, from classical to hard rock.

The listening room is ovoid, roughly 14' x 30', with the sound traveling across the short axis of the room.

I'm looking for a musical subwoofer, with clean, tight bass, that's not going to be a chore to set up. I'm no electrical engineer, and I don't want to get bogged down with very technical schematics on how to set this thing up, but I am willing to spend the extra $$ if the DD10 clearly blows the SPL away.

I listened to the Revel B12 and B15, as well as a few of the Rel subs, but in the end, I think I'm partial to Velodyne... I just can't seem to decide between the DD and the SPL series.

Thing is, I've scoured the internet in search of reviews on these two subs and have come up with relatively little, which is what brings me to you, for your experience and thoughts, which are greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!
    B&W 802D, HTMS-4; Velodyne DD-12, Arcam AVR-300, McIntosh MC-402, Musical Fidelity KW-SACD, Pioneer Elite

"... these go to eleven."
  • audioqueso
    Super Senior Member
    • Nov 2004