X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • pf
    • Oct 2000

24/384 processing?

Just got word from my Theta dealer that an 'Extreme' DAC card is now available for the CB 2 upgrade. Each card will cost ~$4000 with 4 DAC's on board. In fact the same info is already posted on the AVS Forum. Any idea what will 24/384 processing do that 24/192 can't?

May be this will be more appropriate posted on the Theta forum but figure it's the 24/384 processing that I am curious about more than Theta whom I am still having a hardtime getting them to move faster.

PF
  • Lex
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Apr 2001

Po-ming, please do repost to Club Theta. Yikes, 4K for just the DAC card? Guess I am not a Theta prospect, ouch.

I am realy not sure about these numbers. But don't you need to have software that can support it to be of any real value? I want to get extremely more technical than my current knowledge base is, but in due time...

My answer is, I just don't know!

Lex
    Doug
    "I'm out there Jerry, and I'm loving every minute of it!" - Kramer

Comment

• Andrew Pratt
      Moderator Emeritus
      • Aug 2000

unless its upsampleing the data I'm not sure what its for....I mean if its for SACD etc you're going to need more then one card aren't you?

Comment

• John Holmes
        Moderator Emeritus
        • Aug 2000

I have wondered how much more I would actually hear with a 192 DAC. Then like Lex, I realized that I won't. At least until there is software to support it.

So until I see a raving review(s) that it is a must have, 192 and 384 are just numbers.

"I came here, to chew bubble gum and kickass. And I'm all out of bubble gum!!!" My DVD's
        "I have come here, to chew bubblegum and kickass. And I'm all out of bubblegum!!!"

Comment

• pf
          • Oct 2000