X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Jmacs_Naim
    • May 2004

General assistance asked for re integrating 2 channel & AV/HT

Hello All

I have been a 'lurker' here for a while, and after getting a feel for the place, which BTW seems pretty friendly, and quite knowledgeable, thought i would register as I have something of an ongoing quest to finish my AV/HT journey which I started some 2 yrs ago, and would appreciate some comments from experienced members if anyone would be able to help.

I have had 30+ yrs experience in 2 channel, but am relatively new to the HT side of things with about 2 yrs experience now. I am discovering that HT is in many ways a different 'animal' to 2 channel, and needs to be assesed somewhat differently, especially when evaluating options re upgrading/finishing a system. My present course is to finish the sound side of it, and then attend to upgrading the display.

My 2 channel system is all Naim-Audio i.e CD player, pre-amp, pre-amp power supply, power amp and speakers. To this I have added over the last couple of years some Sony ES gear for AV/HT purposes, being the 9000ES series DVD player, AV processor and multi-mode power amp.

I am running it all as an integrated 'hybrid' system with the Sony processor front left and right outputs going to the Naim pre-power & speakers for the front channels (running in centreless 'phantom' mode) and the rear outputs from the processor going to the Sony amp running in 2 channel mode and driving a pair of Tannoy MX2's for rear speaker duties.

My thoughts for completing the sound side of the system are thus.

Purchase Naim Ariva speakers for the rears, to timbre match the Naim SBL's at the front, and add in due course a Naim Acess centre channel speaker and either Naim's forthcoming sub, or REL or Velodyne.