X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • tomagardner
    • Nov 2006

how much comes from 7.1 rear speakers?

Howdy, newbie here.

We are doing the big basement remodel and I get to do the speakers, etc. Are there a lot of 7.1 out there? And how much sound comes from the 7.1 rear speakers? I am trying to decided whether to get really good rear speakers or just some in-walls.

Cheers, Tom
  • Chris D
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Dec 2000

Tom, I'd recommend that you use the same speakers for side surround as you do the rears, and that those be timbre matched to the fronts. You don't want to have a sound change as it moves from one speaker to another.

I'd say most movies today are put out as 6.1 or 7.1, using rear speakers. And if it's not, you can use Dolby Pro Logic IIx on ANY source, whether speech, music or movie, to create a 7.1 soundfield. I highly recommend this, as it works great.
    CHRIS

Well, we're safe for now. Thank goodness we're in a bowling alley.
    - Pleasantville

Comment

• tomagardner
      • Nov 2006

Thanks for the help! Getting identical front, side and rear speakers it is.

Comment

• Chris D
        Moderator Emeritus
        • Dec 2000

Well, you CAN get identical speakers for all 7. I think that'd be better than buying different speakers here and there that are not going to match sonically. The rear 4 speakers generally all have the same purpose, so they can be identical, designed for surround sound. What's best, though, is to get front main speakers and a center that are specifically designed for each of those purposes, and overall buy all 7 speakers from the same manufacturer that SPECIFICALLY DESIGN them to match up with each other.

But again, all 7 same speakers works too, just not "optimal".
        CHRIS

- Pleasantville

Comment

• naughty
          • Jul 2010

i would not use all speakers identical - i would use conventional speakers for the fronts and stick to the following unwritten rules