X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • DevSingh1359
    • Dec 2009

How should I set up my surround sound?

I'm a total novice when it comes to home theater stuff so I'd really appreciate some help here

On Black Friday I got this Sony BRAVIA 5.1 home theater system from Best Buy for $279

I'm currently waiting until my next paycheck to buy a 55" Samsung LED TV (http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Samsung+...B600&cp=1&lp=1) and a Bluray player (finally upgrading from the CRT TV I've been using for the past 6 years ). Along with the Bluray player, I'll need to connect my Xbox 360 (one of the old models with component output/no HDMI) and my cable box to the receiver.

The problem with the A/V receiver is that it only has one optical audio input and one HDMI output. What I'm wondering is...if I route everything to the TV's inputs (Bluray player and cable box via HDMI cable and 360 via component cables) and then route the TV's audio to the receiver via a single optical audio cable, will I receive 5.1 digital surround sound for ALL of my devices?

Or should I take another (albeit more complicated) approach to this by connecting only the video for each of my devices to the TV via HDMI/component...and then separately connecting the audio for each device directly to the receiver via optical cables for each of them? (In this case I would have to use a splitter on the receiver's single optical input.)

Which approach would you guys recommend? I really want the best surround sound quality possible.
  • Kevin D
    Ultra Senior Member
    • Oct 2002

Originally posted by DevSingh1359
    and then route the TV's audio to the receiver via a single optical audio cable, will I receive 5.1 digital surround sound for ALL of my devices?
    Well it depends. Most TV's with digital out, only output 5.1 from OTA HD channels on the tuner. Everything else gets down-converted to 2 channel PCM.