X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • wkhanna
    Grumpy Old Super Moderator Emeritus
    • Jan 2006

Help with OSD function

I am seriously considering buying a used Rotel RSP 976 pre/pro in order to upgrade my current 2 channel component system to 5.1 HT. As a novice, I have been studying for a few months, but still have much to learn and rely on advise from nice folks like you.

I am in a quandary over the purchase of this unit. My current TV, which will not be replaced any time soon, has only composite and S-Video inputs. I have found information that says the RSP 976 OSD (On Screan Display) only works with the composite format. If this is true, does this means that in order to make use of the OSD, I have to sacrifice using the higher quality S-Video signal to my TV? As I said, I’m no expert, but this does not make sense to me?!?

Following is the correspondence I have had with the seller:
    Question to seller:
    "I saw a review by an owner on audioreview.com that said his OSD did not work when using S-Video I/O cables, Sounds like 'bunk' to me, but can you confirm? "

Reply from seller:
    "As for the S-Video thing, the OSD does not work with it. I have the OSD on and connected both S-Video and composite out and the OSD only showed up on the composite output."

At this point I am totally confused. I can buy this unit for $400. I would ‘seal the deal’ in a minute if I can get this issue resolved.

Any and All advice will be greatly appreciated.
    _

Bill

Practicing Curmudgeon & Audio Snob
    ....just an "ON" switch, Please!

FinleyAudio
  • locomk
    • Dec 2005