X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Maddog69
    • May 2005

Amp to reciever

hey guys i have a kenwood VR-705 with a $4000 pair of floor speakers and i want to get an amp for the reciever but before i buy the amp i want to know how do i hook the amp to it i was gonna buy a mackie 1400 watt amp each of my floor speakers hold up to 300 watts a piece and before i buy the amp i just need some guidence on how to hook an amp to a reciever if there are any help sites out there please let me know cause im new to all this and dont know much lol thanks
  • Snap
    Super Senior Member
    • Feb 2005

:welcome:

Welcome to the guide. Looking at the specs on the VR-705 you only have 2 audio outs. They are RCA. The Mackie has 1/4 or Speakon conections. You are going to need RCA to 1/4 cables to connect your AV Receiver to the Amp.

What scares me is it does not list them as "pre-amp outs" It just says Audio Out x 2? You might want to seriously concider buying a new Reciever as your Pre Amp before going ahead with the Amp addition. Denon makes a nice AV reciever that has dedicated Pre Amp outs for under 3 bills. Pioneer has some good stuff out real cheap. So to be honest with you I am not sure your AV receiver will work.

On the Mackie note, have you considered QSC? IMHO better amp for less money. Just a thought.

What speakers are you running?

Tried to get the owners manual buut Kenwoods website is under construction. All I can get is a catalog.
    The Bitterness of poor quality last longer than the joy of low prices.

Comment

• Maddog69
      • May 2005

where can i come accross that amp instead of the mackie and that reciever cause i do want to get rid of the kenwood

Comment

• Al Garay
        • Jan 2004

QSC and Crown are available at local Guitar Center stores. Check your local directory for Pro-audio music stores. They'll most likely have QSC and Crown.