X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Penningtonsm
    • Jan 2005

Need a new receiver

Hey guys, I kinda started this on a different thread but i decided to start a new one just in case people dont read all they way to the end. It has become very clear to me that I need a new receiver. (i am very new to all the HT stuff so i just grabbed the receiver that I had and used it) I dont have a very high budget, about $300 so my options are not very long. I was looking at a few of them though and was wondering if someone here could point me in the right direction. Here are the ones i was looking at so far:

Yamaha HTR 5760
    Harmon Kardon AVR 235
    Onkya TXSR502

Any help will be greatly appreciated.
  • Patt
    • Feb 2005

Hi Steve,

Never been looking for an A/V reciever before but harmonaudio.com sells reconditioned and they are authorized. Maybe they could save you a few bucks.

Locally Harmon Kardon is sold retail and I read somewhere they are one of the few A/V' reciever's that are conservative with their power ratings.

Some Klipsch followers seem to like the sound of them for taming the horns.
    ......Pat

Comment

• freon
      • Mar 2005

harmonaudio.com has an ebay store also, I picked up an avr-630 for only 5 big ones :T
      My Media room construction page

Comment

• Penningtonsm
        • Jan 2005

Are you happy with your Avr 630? I'm checking out harmonaudio.com tonight. Thanks for the info.

Comment

• whoaru99
          • Jul 2004

You may want to consider the Panasonic digital receivers. They are relatively inexpensive and seem to have a pretty good bang for the buck and have received some favorable comments/reviews. I think the lower priced model is SA-XR50.
          There are some things which are impossible to know, but it is impossible to know which things these are. :scratchhead:

----JAFFE'S PRECEPT

Comment

• Patt
            • Feb 2005

Originally posted by whoaru99