X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Irish
    • Nov 2004

Home theatre/audio novice needs advice

Hi I'm new to this great site so bear with me. I'm having a midlife crisis so it was either a woman, sportscar or home theatre/audio equip. My wife and I decided on HT/AUDIO. Have recently purchased a Mitsubishi 62725 DLP, B&W DM602 S3's, LCR600 center and DS6-3 Rears. So now that I'm about out of $ I need help completing my system from cables/connections to cd and reciever. I like rotel but am not smart enough to tell you why other than I've learned a little from reading some of the forums and a dealer nearby. Looked on ebay at a rsx1055 would that work? Is it overkill? Are used electronics unwise? CD/DVD player and cable/connections?? help!
  • Danbry39
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Sep 2002

Hey, welcome to the forum!!!

Rotels and B&W's go together very well. They are distributed by the same company and tune their equipment to each other.

Things you might want to consider:

1. Ebay: The seller of the item you're interested in doesn't have a bunch of feedback yet. He does have 100% positive feedback, but you want to make sure as possible that he will do right by you.

2. Rotels are great gear imo and have honest power ratings. The receiver you're looking at, I think it's 75 watts per channel X's 5, will equate to more actual power than many receivers rated at over 100 watts per channel.

3. That particular Rotel is one generation old. If you want the latest/greatest, you might consider newer models. On the other hand, you might get this one for a fraction of the cost.

4. That Rotel has the option of assigning certain channels should you eventually want to add a power amp and go 7.1.