Anyone have experience with Proton, AMC, NAD amps?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • PatG
    • May 2024

Anyone have experience with Proton, AMC, NAD amps?

I have been considering an integrated amp/receiver from one of these manufacturers but have not found a ton of info. NAD obviously has the strongest presence here in the states but their products seem to get mixed reviews (like the 7225PE or 7240PE). Proton is more popular in Europe (Translated pages make about as much sense as a nursery rhyme), 520, D940 and D540 seem to have a following. AMC's line of power amps seems solid with some excited reviews but also quite a few hohum reviews as well, valve amps seem to have reliability issues (I have their CD8b, not bad). Wondering if anybody here has experience with any of these guys.
  • Chris D
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Dec 2000

Sorry, I have no experience with "NADS".

(tee hee)
    CHRIS

Well, we're safe for now. Thank goodness we're in a bowling alley.
    - Pleasantville

Comment

• twitch54
      • Apr 2006

While I don't own anything from NAD, a friends new 'Masters' Series Integrated M3 sounds quite nice driving his Vienna Acoustics.

Alot depends on what Speakers you will be driving, for the synergistic match of components is often overlooked.
      Dave

Comment

• seeker
        • Mar 2007

I've had a D540 for a long time, and it developed a scratchy volume (which I cured), and an intermittent right channel (which I also easily fixed with a little lube). Also have an AA-2120 dual mono with the giant blue-green meters, which I tend to think of as a poor man's Macintosh. Never had any issues with it, and would like another. I notice they go for as much or more than what I paid for it in 2000 (325.00) on epay today.
        Steve

Comment

• PatG