X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • eddiebrock
    • Jun 2006

I'm a newbie that needs help deciding on speakers and subwoofer

I bought a house that had a dedicated theatre in it, but the owners took the projector, screen, receiver, as well as 2 free standing side speakers and the subwoofer. Someone suggested that I get these, which I think are the ones that were there before. Are there any comparable products that I should consider instead that might be a better for about the same price range?

Velodyne SPL-1000 "10" (subwoofers)

PR. B&W DS6 S3 2 Way dipole Surround ( Speakers)

I don't even know where to begin looking. I believe my current speakers are B&W, I just need the 2 surrounds and subwoofer. Someone suggested getting the SVS PB12-Plus/2 or one of the SVS DD series for the subwoofer, but I don't know if there are speakers for about the same price that would be better than these.

What I really need is a website or something that explains all the terms, technologies, and features I should be looking for in speakers and the subwoofer. I found a magazine that explained about receivers so I was able to make a decision on that, but I know absolutely nothing about speakers. My dedicated theatre is 24.8 x 15.5 x 12 and it looks like this, only its missing the surround speakers you can see on the wall:

• aud19
    Twin Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2003

I'll give a second recommendation to the SVS subs :T

As for speakers, find out what you've got for mains and match those, if your mains are B&W's your works almost done
    Jason

Comment

• eddiebrock
      • Jun 2006

Originally posted by aud19
      I'll give a second recommendation to the SVS subs :T

As for speakers, find out what you've got for mains and match those, if your mains are B&W's your works almost done