X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • brianpowers27
    • Feb 2009

Build Thread -- Newbie modeling an hframe - open back mid

I am totally new to the open baffle modeling process. I have gained a very rudimentry understand about what needs to happen by reading from John K, Martin King, Linkqitz, etc...

I am setting out to build a first attempt at an open baffle. My budget is tight and I want to go all passive. I really like the idea of minimizing radiated energy into the room via di-pole cancellation.

I own the following drivers for one pair of speakers:

2x alesis 5.25 http://www.parts-express.com/pe/sho...tnumber=299-160 (Nearfield FRD Attached.)

4x no-name 12" woofers (qts = 1.2) http://www.parts-express.com/pe/sho...tnumber=292-320

4xDayton ND20fb4

I really would like to find the best tool for the modeling process. AJINFLA explained that the X-Baffle and the Response Modeler do not account for the H-Frame specific properties. I assume the H-frame has some level of pressurization that is independent from flat baffle designs(Pressure cavity?). I believe that both programs do account for the di-pole peak. THe response modeler 2.1 was just released today with this mod. (Thanks Jeff!)

I was thinking a nice starting point would be: (MDF)
    --woofer baffle of 14"x30"x.75"
    --two wings 8"x30"x.75".
    --The top and bottom of the hfram would be covered 15.5"x8"x.75"
    --Open Baffle for mid 12"x24"x.75". REsts in the middle of the h-frame
    --Tweeter (Dayton ND20fb 3500hz) at 16" on open baffle (Rear firing tweeter is mounted on additional back baffle piece.) wired in series with rear firing out of phase.
    --Midrange at 12" on open baffle
    --30degree angle brace from h-fram rear to open baffle rear.(pine 1"x4")
    --My Speaker building pages http://sites.google.com/site/brianpowers27speakers/
    --Get yourself on this forum member map! This can help everyone find fellow DIYers in the area.
    --The Speaker DIY resource Database
  • ThomasW