X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • georgev
    • Jul 2004

Harmony 885

I am new to universal remotes and am considering the plunge.
    I am looking at a Harmony 885, and I want to control a family room that has Theatre amp. DVD Player, LCd Panel and Satellite decoder.
    1. Is it easy to set up and use?
    2. Can it be setup that if I press one button the LCD will switch to the input, amp will change source etc?

When I watch satellite, the amp has to be switched on and source changed, the LCD has be changed to the appropriate source and the distributor has to be switched on.

If I watch a DVD, the source on the amp and the input on the LCD has to be changed.

Can I do all this by one button?

Sorry for the novice type questions.
    George.
  • georgev
    • Jul 2004

Help Anyone?

Comment

• Chris D
      Moderator Emeritus
      • Dec 2000

Ummm... I don't know the Harmony line at all, but yes, it probably does what you're asking. I just got a Universal Remote MX-980, and that thing ROCKS. Highly recommended. www.urc.com if you want to check out that company.
      CHRIS

Well, we're safe for now. Thank goodness we're in a bowling alley.
      - Pleasantville

Comment

• Hdale85
        Moderator Emeritus
        • Jan 2006

Yes it has Watch buttons. You press something like Watch DVD and it will turn on your amp change the source on the amp, turn on the tv change the source on the tv, and turn on the dvd player, or any other number of things that you could possibly need it to do.

Comment

• georgev
          • Jul 2004

Got the remote on a trial basis, and yes it certainly is quite easy to use and I am enjoying it(will probably keep it).
          What I haven't been able to get it to do yet is switch on the PS3.
          Any thoughts?

Comment

• Chris D
            Moderator Emeritus
            • Dec 2000