X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • maseline_98
    • Apr 2005

What is a good remote?

I'm looking for a learning remote that does macros for my A/V system. I would like to be able to load a macro(call it "SPORTS")...that Turns on TV, receiver, cable box, sets TV to correct visual settings(constrast, brightness..ect), sets cable box to ESPNHD and sets my receiver to current input, ect. I don't know if this is even possible, but would like to know if there is such a remote that does this. I currently have the RC1400 that came with my marantz SR8400. I've never used macros before so I might be missing the point of them. I would kinda like to get all of this for no more than $250(ideal price would be $100-$150). Seems like a lot for a remote, but I was on marantz's webpage and they have RC9500 for $1100 8O and I think that's a little crazy for a remote considering I got a HDTV and Receiver for that.

I was looking at the Sony RM-AV300.

Sony kds-60a2000\Panasonic BD-55k\XBOX 360 Premium(20gig)Slingbox\Xbox(flashed) running XBMC
    Emotiva UMC-1\Emotiva XPA-5\Klipsch (2)RF-7s with DeanG xover upgrade, RC-7 with DeanG xover upgrade, (2)RS-7s\SVS 20-39PC+

• Dec 2000

Yeah, maseline, there's a few out there that are very high powered. Me, I had my eye on a Theater Master MX-700 remote for a long time, and ended up getting one with my Parasound system. I love it--fully programmable and customizable through computer connection, macros, learning, database, LCD and hard buttons... the works. Don't remember, but I think MSRP is around $299, you can find it for less.
    CHRIS

Well, we're safe for now. Thank goodness we're in a bowling alley.
    - Pleasantville

Comment

• jimmyp58
      Super Senior Member
      • Aug 2003

Though I sell many brands, my personal favorites are the Theater Master series. User friendly and ergonomically correct. I have personally owned Sony's but I don't like them at all in comparison.