X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • siberian
    • Dec 2004

Which Pronto?

Hi all, I'm new to pronto and was pretty sure of the TSU2000 but now I am wondering if I should jump up to a TSU3000 or even higher. To top it off resident expert Andrew has definent affinity for specific models.

So, should I stick with the TSU2000 range or jump up to a TSU3000? What are the tradeoff's there?

Thanks, ready to pull the trigger on this but got nervous on the optionality

John-
  • Andrew Pratt
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2000

Depends what you want and how much you're willing to pay.

Basically here's a run down of the various models...

TSU1000
    Has 1 meg of onboard memory and is the original pronto.
    Has a black and white screen (well green and black really)
    Runs the SuperNudelist software
    Uses the CCF file format
    Uses ProntoEdit 4.0.5 editing software which is the latest version available. Its stable and very reliable. The learning curve is rather steep for the editing software as it was never intended for public release rather it was designed for custom installers. Still its not difficult once you get some of the basic concepts down.

TSU2000
    The TSU2000 replaced the TSU1000 as the entry level pronto
    Has 2 meg's of onboard memory and built in database of codes...which eats up most of the extra meg of ram over the TSU1000.
    Has a black and white screen (well green and black really)
    Uses the CCF file format
    Uses ProntoEdit 4.0.5 editing software.

TSU6000
    The TSU6000 is the first colour screen model in the pronto line
    Has a lot more memory then either black and white model as file sizes are much larger
    Uses the CCF file format
    Uses ProntoEdit 4.0.5 editing software.

Pronto NEO
    This is a combo LCD and button remote that tries to fit in both the LCD and button lovers camp. Its not really good at either and never really became as popular as the pronto's. If you want something similar check out the MX500 etc.