X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • pommels
    • Sep 2006

Very new to all of this

I am looking at the Optoma HD72 currently on sale at 1699 with a free 92" screen (Optoma DS909) for my basement. It is a large room, 25 by 25 or so, 7' 9" ceiling, and a perfect spot for setting up the ceiling mount with the lens almost exactly 9 feet from a wall for the screen. I have Comcast digital cable with a digital cable box in this room, and will use it for sports, TV viewing and movies, no games.

I am very new to this so I have a few questions:

will I need an additional HD tuner?

is the ceiling high enough for this?

is it OK to use a screen that I know will not be completely filled by the thrown image?

where do you locate a professional to do a reasonable cost install?

am I looking at the right projector for this room size and a budget around 2k?

Thanks in advance for any input, it is all appreciated,

Dave J.
  • Azeke
    Super Senior Member
    • Mar 2003

Originally posted by pommels
    I am looking at the Optoma HD72 currently on sale at 1699 with a free 92" screen (Optoma DS909) for my basement. It is a large room, 25 by 25 or so, 7' 9" ceiling, and a perfect spot for setting up the ceiling mount with the lens almost exactly 9 feet from a wall for the screen. I have Comcast digital cable with a digital cable box in this room, and will use it for sports, TV viewing and movies, no games.

I am very new to this so I have a few questions:

will I need an additional HD tuner?

is the ceiling high enough for this?

is it OK to use a screen that I know will not be completely filled by the thrown image?

am I looking at the right projector for this room size and a budget around 2k?

Thanks in advance for any input, it is all appreciated,

Dave J.
    Hello Dave and welcome to HT Guide :welcome:

1) Will I need an additional HD tuner?