X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • miner
    • Mar 2005

Mitsu CRT RPTV - See 'Need advice - noob here'

I have a WS55907 RPTV that has a signal board probelm. The warranty expired last month (5 yr Philllips extended warranty). My tech told me the needed part is no longer available - I verified with Mitsubishi. I thought parts HAD to be available for at least 7 years following a model discontinuation. Am I wrong here? A 5 yr old great TV that can't be fixed is totally unacceptable. I have voiced my displeasure with Mitsubishi - they will be talking to the repair facility to discuss options. My salesman told me they may offer to compensate me for my non-fixable TV. I paid $4000 for this on 7/8/01 - what should I 'accept' as an offer. All comments and suggesttions welcomed. Any other horror stories that are similar?
  • aud19
    Twin Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2003

If it was me I'd be aiming for:

"If you can't repair my TV, replace it with a current equivelant model for the cost of the part."

Seems fair to me.

How much was the part when available?
    Jason

Comment

• miner
      • Mar 2005

$400 for the signal board. I'll try that route next time I speak with the Mits rep.

Comment

• tf1216
        • Apr 2006

Any update on this matter?

Comment

• aud19
          Twin Moderator Emeritus
          • Aug 2003

Originally posted by tf1216
          Any update on this matter?
          Yeah, let us know how you make out :T
          Jason

Comment

• Arneson
            • Jan 2006

Someone with an oscilloscope, that is, a technician, can fix the board.
            There should be no reason to get rid of this set for that reason only.
            Jim

Comment

• miner
              • Mar 2005

I was told by Mitsu that this board was designed to be fixed at the component level; my HT guys have done so at a cost of $108.51 - will be deliverd tomorrow. Signal board and cooling tray repaired. Total repair $302.64 (Service call, diagnosis, repair, assembly).

Comment