X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Juan Cortez
    • May 2003

Rotel Rsp 1066 vs Anthem AVM 20!

Hello

I am new to the fourm and want to say hello. I was wondering about what you guys think about these two processors? I am setting up a 7.1 system. I am matching them with Paradigm Studio 40s all the way around with a Studio-cc and Servo-15. So my main question is the Anthem worth the extra money? Also how you compare Anthem PVA amps to The Rotel amps? I can not afford the 200 wat amps so I am deciding between PVA 7 or RMb 1075, and RB-1070. Any other sugesstions would be accepted.

Thanks Jay.
    Jason
  • Andrew Pratt
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2000

Welcome to the forum!

The 1066 and the Anthem really aren't meant to be compared against each other given that the Anthem costs twice what the 1066 does. Rotel is coming out with the 1098 pre amp that should be available soon (if SARS doesn't slow it down even more) which will be about the same price as the Anthem but offer a few more interesting features (built in LCD screen!) There's a few threads about the 1098 if you search for them if you're interested.

Anyway I really like the Rotel (obviously) and its got a lot going for it but if both were given to me it would be hard to give back the Anthem. That said the real question to be asked is does the extra $$$ justify the benefits the Anthem offers? If you can I highly suggest you listen to both and decided from there. With the money you'd save buying the Rotel you could buy much better amps which depending on what you're using for speakers could make a bigger difference in over all sound quality then the differences between the Anthem and the Rotel.

Comment

• Juan Cortez
      • May 2003

Hello

Thanks for the reply. I am going to use my system 50/50 (movies/music).