Rotel 1098 questions for newbie - switching over???

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Quantronics
    • Apr 2004

Rotel 1098 questions for newbie - switching over???

I this is my first time on the forum and I must, there's some great information and everyone is very helpful.

I'm currently looking at switching out of my Marantz SR-18 refernce receiver and going into sperates. I've looked at the Rotel 1098 and the Parasound's C1. I do have a few questions before I make the big leap. I have B&W 803's as my primary speakers with a Nauitlus HTM1 center channl and Nauitlui SCM1 as my rears.

1. The LCD screen only works with composite inputs? If that's true, should I hook up my DVD, VCR and my TIVO through the composite and let the 1098 up sample through the component output. Will I loose video quality by doing that by gaining the LCD screen. Will most components allow for multiple outputs (S-Video and Composite or Component and Composite). I really can use the extra LCD screen for viewing sports, editing, etc.

2. Can I hook up the Ethernet jack on the 1098 into my home network (Linksys Router) and access it though the network rather than hook up a computer each time I need to upgrade the firmware, etc? The rack I have all my components are in is not easily accessible. How often do firmware updates come out? Do I need to open up the 1098 to perform a firmware?

3. How are Rotel 5x amps compared to Bryston or equivalent high end. I would like to drive all 5 B&W speakers through the amp. Any suggestions here? I did read the post on the Parasound forum kinding digging into the 1098 for a weak mid-range. Seems like sour grapes in my opionion.

4. Is Rotel's customer service good and reliable. Do they have a lot of DOA products? If something does go bad, how long does it take to get the products fixed?