X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • bandit788
    • Nov 2004

RSX-1056 vs. Class D Amplification

Question in short: Are all of you audiophiles happy with Class D amplification, compared to the older toroidal type amplification?

I have been putting off the purchase of a new receiver for nearly five years because I have always wanted a RSX-1056 to power my B&W 603's surround setup in our living room. However I finally wish to go HDMI. I have a 7.1 setup with the 603's bi-wired, the matching center and matching in ceiling/in walls to boot. When I purchased the B&W's I auditioned them with the Rotel RSX-1056, but due to my budget back then I purchased a Denon AVR-885 (2105) 90wx7 channels and have used it every since. The sound is good, but it has never sounded like the speakers did when pushed by the Rotel RSX-1056 at the store. I really wish to upgrade to a expensive receiver with HDMI options, but Rotel and everything else seems to be Class D amplification, not the older toroidal type amplification like the RSX-1056. Just nervous that the RSX-1560 is not going to have the sound that the RSX-1056 had. I remember the warmth and clarity no matter how hard I pushed my B&W's.

I have considered just buying a RSX-1056 and another pair of 603's to get that sound, and then just getting a nice receiver with HDMI to replace the Denon in our living room.

Thanks in advance for any input guys...and girls.

Shane
  • srb
    • Oct 2004

You might want to also consider the RSX-1550 which has a similar 5 X 75W/ch Class AB amplifier section as the RSX-1056.

If you later decide to upgrade or want 7.1 amplification, the savings over the RSX-1560 would get you halfway there (or all the way there, if used) to a nice separate Class AB 2-channel power amplifier for the front 2 channels, which would have more power than either Rotel receiver.

Unless you just prefer to have one component instead of two, which is also understandable.

Steve

Comment

• madmac
      Moderator Emeritus