X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • nicodim55
    • Nov 2003

rotel vs sunfire

Hello I'm new to this forum and I'm looking for some expert advise on whether to spend the money now and get the ROTEL RMB1095 or the SUNFIRE SYMPHONIC SERIES(2 channel amp) to power my 2 fronts POLK RTI50's. Currently I have a SONY 4ES receiver which I would like to use as my pre amp. I'm new to separates so I need all the help I can get. Thanks in advance. nicodim55
  • Andrew Pratt
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2000

Bob Carver's a smart cookie and he's come out with some rather unusual and interesting designs over the years. I'm not familar with that particular amp but its likely a fairly safe bet its pretty decent.

The Rotel 1095 is a 5 channel amp as i'm sure you're well aware so I'm not sure why you're comparing the 2 channel carver to the 5 channel rotel? If all you need is 2 channels why not look at the 1080 or 1090 from rotel instead? Both of those would be a better choice for 2 channel IMO. What does the carver retail for?

Comment

• nicodim55
      • Nov 2003

Thanks for the reply here is the specs on the carver and it retails at 850.00 U.S. I was originally just looking into buying a 2 channel amp to power my fronts which are rated at 50-500watts so I thought the SONY didn't have enough power for them so I went to the store and liked the 1095 and the Carver Symphonic Reference Power Amplifier. I like the looks of the 1095 but then again looks aren't always everything. Like I said I'm new to this subject of separates. Thanks again for all the help. nicodim55

250 watts rms continuous per channel, all channels driven into eight ohms from 20Hz to 20kHz with no more than 0.5% T.H.D.

500 watts rms per channel into four ohms

Intrinsic frequency response of one Hz to 80kHz

Signal present auto-on switch senses input signal on any channel and automatically powers up
      12VDC trigger input with 1/8" mini jacks as well as plug-in screw-terminal strip