X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Tapesh
    • Oct 2003

Connecting Amplifier ? Help please.

Will be getting my first amplifier Rotel RB-1090 by end of next week. So preparations are on. I want to keep it separate from my HT setup.

Some real dumb qs.

1. Can you connect DVD/CD player audio out directly to amplifier. With built in processor the audio out should work isn’t it ? Actually I don’t know what role pre-amplifier plays ? I don’t have funds to buy a pre-amp and cant use HT receiver as that set up cant take this AMP. Is it possible or I will have to go for an pre-amp.
    2. What kind of interconnect cable should I use, cheap & good not the best & pricey.
    3. What speaker cables, I use monster speaker cable right now. Simple pink ones.

Speakers would be either of these.

Magnapan / Polk Lsi9/Lsi15 / ACI Saphire / B&W 603 S3

Thanks

Tapesh
  • aud19
    Twin Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2003

Well I am by no means an expert, especially whith a dedicated two-channel system, but I will see if I can help.

1) I'm not sure what you mean by built in processor? If you mean a combination reciever/ DVD player than yes you would be able to connect an amp directly to it's outputs. Otherwise, if it's a stand alone player you will need something to process the output of the player, for volume control if nothing else. Otherwise I believe you would get a deafening volume. Hazardous to your speakers for sure and probably your ears.