X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • gfish
    • Mar 2005

Newbie question

Just got my Rotel RSX-1067 last week. Hook-up and set-up went well. Now I see all this firmware update stuff flying around (on the website). I am very confussed, I checked my current version (v1.2.0). How do I find out what the newest version is, and what's the upgrade for? And just say the next version is 1.2.3, do I need to install 1.2.1, and 1.2.2 before I go to 1.2.3?

If someone can explain in layman's terms what I need to do it would be great. Or point me to a clear thread where it is explained. I did some searching, but there were a bunch of other model numbers being thrown around.

For some backround on me: my name is Glen, I'm from Connecticut, I'm 33, married (almost 8 yrs.) . I'm a Mechanical Engineer, love HT stuff, love to mountain bike.

My retired receiver was a Technics DolbyDigital/DTS $300 machine. I just don't want to "F" up my new Rotel, it is a thing of beauty.

I have a Panasonic 47" RPTV, Denon 4800 DVD player, Vienna Acoustice L,R,C. Velodyne SPL1000 S2 sub, Cambridge Soundworks rears (next upgrade), Monster Power HTS2600.

Thanks for your help.
  • PewterTA
    • Nov 2004

Well what you might want to do is wait another week or two, I believe Rotel is going to re-release all their firmwares as they've fixed the bugs in them.

But all you need to do is go to Rotel's Website (http://www.rotel.com/support/techups/techup-H22.htm), download the MTTY program, and the EPROM firmware for the 1067 (v1.2.1 it looks like). There are instructions in there on how to update step by step.

...but like I said, I believe Rotel is going to re-release the firmwares they had up a few weeks ago that caused the fuss. I could be wrong, maybe someone will know better.

Oh yeah, and welcome to the club! :spin:
    Digital Audio makes me Happy.
    -Dan

Comment

• Andrew Pratt
      Moderator Emeritus
      • Aug 2000