RSX-1055 have enough power to drive these?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • snazzy
    • Jun 2003

RSX-1055 have enough power to drive these?

I am new to club rotel and I must say that this is definitely the best forum on rotel equipment. I am in the process of building a new setup and was wondering what people thought of the following speakers as a good compliment to the 1055? Does the rotel have enough power to so the following speakers justice?

1) Paradigm studio 60's (I seriously wonder about this)
    2) Paradigm monitor 11's
    3) B&W 603 S3 or 604
    4) Mirage OM7's or 9's

At this point I don't plan on adding an additional amp, but may in the far future. Any opinions on matching the speakers listed above with the RSX-1055 would be greatly appreciated.
  • Scarp
    • Mar 2003

Sure it has the power, so does a 20watt amp.... however if you want it real loud then its not sufficient. However at normal loudness its fine.

If you add a better amp (doesn't necessarily mean more power, but more control, higher damping factor, etc) then you will get a better sounding result.

Comment

• Andrew Pratt
      Moderator Emeritus
      • Aug 2000

I think it depends on your view of "doing it justice" since one could argue that no receiver's amps would do quality speakers "justice". The Rotel receivers amps are very good for what they are and they'll make any speaker sing quite well but to get that last ounce of performance from them you really need a more powerful seperate amp to help control the cone movement...esp with larger speakers that are being asked to produce clean bass notes.

Comment

• ZX 6R
        • Jan 2003